#### **SCRUTINY AND OVERVIEW COMMITTEE**

Minutes of the meeting held on Thursday 23<sup>rd</sup> May 2015 at the rising of Annual Council in the Town Hall, Croydon

#### MINUTES - PART A

**Present:** Councillors Kathy Bee, Carole Bonner, Jan Buttinger, Sean Fitzsimons, Joy Prince, James Thompson and Mister Mayor (Chair)

A01/16 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIR, DEPUTY CHAIR AND VICE CHAIRMAN (Agenda item 1)

#### **RESOLVED -**

The Committee agreed that:

- i) Councillor Sean Fitzsimons be appointed Chair;
- ii) Councillor Carole Bonner be appointed Deputy Chair (majority group); and
- iii) Councillor Jan Buttinger be appointed Vice Chairman (minority group).

#### And that:

- (i) Three scrutiny Sub-Committees be established
- (ii) The remit of the Sub-Committees as set out in paragraph 4.3 of the report be agreed
- (iii) Some parameters for the frequency and content of scrutiny meetings be agreed (paragraphs 4.5 to 4.8 of the report)
- (iv) And the dates of Committee meetings be noted (section 5 of the report)

# A02/15 APPOINTMENT OF SUB-COMMITTEES OF THE SCRUTINY AND OVERVIEW COMMITTEE (Agenda item 2)

#### **RESOLVED -**

The Committee agreed that the following Sub-Committee memberships and Chair and Vice Chair be appointed:

#### i) Children & Young People Scrutiny Sub-Committee

#### Members:

Majority group	Minority group
Sean Fitzsimons (Vice Chair)	Jan Buttinger (Chairman)
Sherwan Chowdhury	Sue Bennett
Maddie Henson	Mario Creatura
Bernadette Khan	
Andrew Rendle	

Co-opted Members

Name	Position
James Collins	Parent Governor
Vinoo John	Parent Governor
Elaine Jones	Diocesan Representative (R.C.)
Leo Morrell	Diocesan Representative (C of E)
Dave Harvey	Teacher Representative

### Reserve Members:

Majority group	Minority group
Pat Clouder	Simon Brew
Kathy Bee	Andy Stranack
Humayun Kabir	Margaret Bird
Joy Prince	
Manju Shahul-Hameed	
David Wood	

# ii) Health and Social Care Scrutiny Sub-Committee

# Members:

Majority group	Minority group
Carole Bonner (Chair)	Margaret Mead (Vice Chair)
Kathy Bee	Andy Stranack
Sean Fitzsimons	
Andrew Pelling	

# Reserve Members:

Majority group	Minority group
Pat Clouder	Sue Bennett
Bernadette Khan	James Thompson
Manju Shahul-Hameed	
David Wood	

# iii) Streets Environment and Homes Scrutiny Sub-Committee

# Members:

Majority group	Minority group
Sean Fitzsimons (Chair)	Jan Buttinger (Vice Chairman)
Stephen Mann	Donald Speakman
Patricia Hay-Justice	James Thompson
Mike Selva	

# Reserve Members:

Majority group	Minority group
Pat Clouder	Richard Chatterjee
Karen Jewitt	Michael Neal
Oliver Lewis	Sue Winborn
Pat Ryan	